Mother’s Day 2017

I thought, since Mother’s Day has just past, I’d share a couple of cards I made for my own mom.

The first was done for her 70th birthday, back in December. There is a tutorial out there I used to make this card, but since I made it months ago… *sigh* I can’t remember where I saw it. If I ever find it again, I will link it here. But I will do my best to describe how I made it…

It’s a standard 4 1/4 by 5 1/2 card base made from heavy white cardstock. I used a number stamps set from Simon Says Stamp to stamp the 70 on the front with VersaMark ink before adding white embossing powder on top. After heat setting, the powder, I took a piece of acetate and “smooshed” various shades of blue and green distress ink onto it, one color at a time. I sprayed the ink with a little water, then used the acetate to spread the ink onto the card in splotches.

I cut the tag out of the same cardstock and heat  embossed the “Happy” and “th” in white. I then inked it up using the same colors I’d used on the card base and brushed over it with my clear Wink of Stella brush pen. The 70 at the bottom was made using the same technique then cut out and adhered with some foam tape. A few gems and a bow made out of some twine completed the card.

For my Mother’s Day card, since my mom loves fairies, I wanted to make her a fairy-themed card, and found an amazing tutorial using Memory Box and Poppy Stamps dies. Unfortunately, my Poppy Stamps fairy dies were delayed in shipping, so I had to improvise with a different fairy die, but I think it turned out OK in the end.

The dies used in making this card included:

  • Memory Box Wildwood Collage
  • Memory Box Thicket Collage
  • Memory Box Grove Collage
  • Memory Box Timberland Collage
  • Poppy Stamps Mushrooms
  • Memory Box Playful Squirrels
  • Poppy Stamps Tiny Frogs
  • Memory Box Lucky Charms
  • Dovecraft Fairy

The four collage dies are different sizes were made to create this tunnel effect. I inked them using various distress inks, getting a little darker the further into the “tunnel” I went. The background was inked to mimic a sunrise. The other elements were inked with distress inks as well and some white dots were added to the mushrooms with a gel pen. The fairy I left white, but spritzed with with a silvery shimmer spray. The layers were put together using foam tape and the detail elements were glued on.

I can’t wait to try this card again with the Poppy Stamps fairies!

Mom loved her cards, especially the fairy. She’s trying to figure out how to frame it. 😄

Happy Mother’s Day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

