National Scrapbook Day 2017

I was super excited to participate in my first National Scrapbook Day, held this past Saturday, May 6. It’s been just over a year since I started crafting and every day I have new ideas.

I don’t actually scrapbook though. I used to, about 10 years ago, but I have trouble printing photos out so I just never seemed to get to work on pages. But card making and mixed media… that I can do without photos.

I completed three projects on Saturday. I’m only sharing two today, as the third was for my Round Robin art journal group, and I’m planning a large post on my entries when we finish, sometime next month.

The two projects I will be sharing today feature Memory Box dies. I have absolutely fallen in love with this company’s dies and can’t wait to add more to my stash!

Deep Blue

I started by blending three pieces of white cardstock with Distress inks… Tumbled Glass (background), Evergreen Bough (middle) and Peacock Feathers (front). I splashed some water drops onto the cards for the “bubble” effect. Next, I die cut the Evergreen Bough and Peacock Feathers cards with the Memory Box Underwater Collage craft dies.

For the inside composition, I die cut a rock and piece of seaweed from a Cottage Cutz die and a branch from a Tim Holtz die that could pass as underwater foliage. The rock I inked with Vintage Photo Distress ink. For the foliage, I “smooshed” Mustard Seed and Abandoned Coral inks onto my craft mat, spritzed with water, and dragged the die cut through the ink.

I then die cut Memory Box’s Delicate Coral and Swimming Seahorses. I inked the coral with Worn Lipstick. The seahorses were colored with Mustard Seed and Spiced Marmalade.  I used a texture stamp with orange ink for the details on the seahorses. Then it was just a matter of assembly, using foam tape. A couple of water droplet gems were glued on to complete the card.

As Deep as the Ocean

For the next card, I had been dying to use the Memory Box Ocean Swell craft die since I got it. I cut an 8 1/2 by 11″ piece of white cardstock in half, then scored it down the center to create my card base. I taped the die to the front of the card and ran it through my die-cutting machine. This die has intricate little details, so have a craft knife handy to help separate the design so you won’t tear it.

I then took another piece of cardstock and inked it using four shades of blue — Chipped Sapphire, Faded Jeans, Broken China and Tumbled Glass. I also sprinkled water over the cardstock when I was done inking. Finally, I sprayed the entire inked panel with a silvery glitter mist. You can’t really see it in the photo, but the blue background absolutely shimmers.

I stamped my sentiment using a stamp from the Ocean Wisdom set from Stampendous in black Archival Ink, then taped in my blue panel to the inside of the card. A few sparkly sequins gave this card the perfect finishing touch.

I’ve just placed an order for some more die by Memory Box, and I can’t wait to try them all out!

One thought on “National Scrapbook Day 2017

Leave a Reply

