“Art”

As soon as I found the Artist Soul stencil by Donna Downey, I couldn’t wait to use it. And the finished piece turned out better than I’d hoped!

"Art"
“Art”

I prepared my canvas panel with texture paste through the stencil, then painted the whole thing with white gesso. When it had dried, I took some Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays — I believe I used the yellow, blue and green sprays from the Mermaid Seashells pack — and sprayed just the top of the canvas. I then picked it up and let the colors run down, pooling around the words. It took several coats of spray to get it all covered, moving down the canvas as I went.

IMG_0517 3b

Of course, the words kind of faded into the background, so I layered the stencil back over the top of the words and used an ink blending tool and Tim Holtz Mermaid Lagoon ink pad to make the words pop.

IMG_0517 3a

Next I glued down some gesso’d chipboard, painting the greenery green and the penny farthing and lamp with Art Alchemy Steampunk Copper. I also added crackle accents to the penny farthing, along with Art Alchemy Light Patina. The little ceramic roses I found from The Shabby Horse Cafe on Etsy and were just perfect!

IMG_0517 3d

I added some painted metal accents and bling to the penny farthing, then created some little flowers with scraps and Prills. For the “grass,” those are green seed beads glues along the bottom.

IMG_0517 3c

To finish up, I added a large flower in the upper right corner and filled in the lamp with yellow Stickles. It’s hard to tell in the photo, because I have such crappy lighting in my house, but it really does shine as though lit.

I also stamped some dragon flies randomly around… for no other reason than I like dragonflies. ^^;;

Thanks for reading! ❤

Leave a Reply

